One day in December- A book review

Jan 14, 202029 comments

How do you feel about insta love or love at first sight? Well, that is what will make or break this book for you. And a lot of people, bloggers and bookstagrammers alike, love this book and might queue up to fight if you didn’t (I am kidding.. maybe). And.. I am talking about One Day in December and let us  see how that turned out for me, ok?

Do you believe in instalove or love at first sight? Have you read #OneDayinDecember? Let us see how that turned out for me! Click To Tweet

About the book

One day in December

Book Name: One Day in December

Author: Josie Silver

Genre: Fiction – Romance

Characters: Laurie James, Jack O’Mara, Sarah, Oscar Ogilvy-Black

Setting:  LondonEnglandThe UK

The plot

One Day in December Laurie is staring out the bus window and she chances upon a guy sitting in a bus stop reading a book. He looks up and they have an instant connection, so strong that she believes he is the one. She spends the next year looking out for the guy with her best friend Sarah. 

During the next Christmas season, she finds him again at a party, only to find that he is Sarah’s boyfriend. When she realizes he doesn’t recognize her and that Sarah is in love with him and he likewise, she quickly gulps down her feelings and tries to stay the third wheel to the supposed “match made in heaven”. 

Over the next decade, they spend time finding themselves with different partners and many missed opportunities. How they end up together forms the rest of One Day in December.

My initial thoughts

One Day in December has everything needed for a perfect winter romance – insta love, strong female friendship, falling for the said friend’s boyfriend and then getting friend zone. I enjoyed Josie Silver’s writing and her voice, that made it hard to put the book down.

I loved the first few chapters and I really tried hard to like the entire book the same way and I failed terribly. 

My main problem was that I felt lukewarm about the protagonists. There was nothing special about them. And they were supposed made for each other and soul mates, we never see it. They do not even take any step whatsoever to be with each other. 

Sigh. I really tried to like One Day in December more.

Things that worked for me

  • The premise was cute and the angst was real.
  • The writing and the pace were perfect for a winter afternoon read. 
  • I liked Sarah and her friendship with Laurie. I wish we saw more of Sarah and Laurie’s history. 

Things that didn’t work for me

  • I didn’t like the protagonists especially Jack nor did I warm up to them until the end even.
  • I love British romance mainly for their witty banter. Nope not much on that front.

Bottom-line

If you are looking for a cute romance filled with angst, you can choose One Day in December by Josie Silver. Perfect for fans of Bridget Jones!

Pin me!

One day in December

Let us chat

Have you read this one? Do you like stories with insta love or love at first sight as a theme? Let us talk. 

29 Comments

  1. Kristen

    Sounds like a good idea in theory. I’m not sure how I feel about insta-love so…maybe not a book for me.

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      I am not a big fan of Insta-love either.

      Reply
  2. Miss.Kizza

    I haven’t read but don’t think it’s something I want to read after your review 😂

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      Ha Ha Glad to be of help!

      Reply
  3. Katiria Rodriguez

    Great review I’m sorry this book wasn’t for you I hope your next read is a much better one. Thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      Thank you.

      Reply
    • Gayathri

      I am glad you loved it so much!

      Reply
  4. Kathy West

    I am not an insta love fan.

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      I am not either!

      Reply
  5. vidya

    so sorry this didn’t work for you.. i remember seeing this and thinking about reading it because the premise was interesting.. now, maybe not immediately at least

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      A lot of my friends loved it though.

      Reply
  6. Yari

    Sorry you didn’t enjoyed the book

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      I hope you do!

      Reply
  7. Jo Linsdell

    I’m fine with insta love but this one sounds like it’s not done quite right. Shame.

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      I was expecting to love it too.

      Reply
  8. Whispering Stories

    Pity the book didn’t work for you. Not sure it would be a book for me either.

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      Let me know if you ever try it.

      Reply
  9. Ashleigh

    I’ve had this on my tbr forever , it’s currently sitting on my bookshelf just don’t know if it’s a book for me , great review!!

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      I still hope you will enjoy it more than I did.

      Reply
  10. Mandi S

    I’ve had this book on my TBR for what seems like forever! I really meant to get to it this past holiday season but never ended up picking it up. I really do love angsty romances though so I need to prioritize this one!

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      Let me know how you enjoy it if and when you get to it!

      Reply
  11. Nadene

    Interesting premier. Sorry to hear you were unable to connect with the characters.

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      Sigh. I am disappointed as well.

      Reply
  12. Kate @ Bitch Bookshelf

    I’m not big on insta love but the premise of this really interests me. It seems realistic and dramatic. I’m sorry it wasn’t perfect for you!

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      I am not either and still I am disappointed about this.

      Reply
  13. DJ Sakata

    I read and enjoyed this one, it was my introduction to Josie Silver.

    Reply
    • Gayathri

      Sigh am I the only one who didn’t? But I am glad you enjoyed it though.

      Reply
  14. Catarina @ Pages & Plots

    I got this book on Christmas 2018 but I had to wait until the next December to read it because, c’mon, it’s on the title. However, I must say this book was a disappointment and I DNFed it around 50 pages in. Insta-love is not my thing, but I was handling it. Then there was cheating and I noped so hard I almost threw the book across the room.

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book review posts: How to improve engagement? | Elgee Writes - […] One day in December- A book review […]

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hello there!

Gayathri loves reading, recommending books and talking about bookish things in real life. Her blog is just an extension of that habit. When she is not reading books or creating online content, she freelances as a beta reader. She lives currently in Dubai.Head over to meet me

Categories

Like what I do?

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
%d bloggers like this: